What Are the 5 Project Management Process Groups?

The 5 Project Management Process Groups Are (according to the PMBOK):

  • Initiating Process Group
  • Planning Process Group
  • Executing Process Group
  • Monitoring and Controlling Process Group
  • Closing Process Group

Note that these Process Groups are sequential and are adopted by the Waterfall Methodology. The Project Management Process Groups above are perfect in Construction Projects, but may not be ideal in Software Projects, where the risks and the unpredictability are much higher. In the latter case, Agile is favored by many due to its flexible nature to adopting to changes.

© 2009 Project Management Learning – Reproduction of this material is strictly prohibited without the written consent of Project Management Learning.

Leave a Comment




Formatting Your Comment

The following XHTML tags are available for use:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

URLs are automatically converted to hyperlinks.